Why I Am Protesting the Presidential Election

6 Nov
Image

“Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost.”

— John Quincy Adams


I protest.

I protest, because I refuse to be subjected to a system of government which has been completely and thoroughly corrupted.

I protest, because I refuse to participate in and thereby perpetuate a system in which politics has engulfed the once great system of government.

I protest, because I refuse to choose as my president, the lesser of two evils.

I protest, because I refuse to surrender my integrity.

I protest, because I refuse to succumb to the groupthink philosophy of political parties.

I protest, because I value these principles.

I vote in a state whose electoral votes have gone to the same party for as long as I have been alive. For an even longer period of time, this same party has controlled both of the U.S. Senator seats in the state.

I vote in a country whose elections are swayed by the whims of the extremely wealthy, instead of the majority of the electorate. A country who is trillions of dollars in debt, yet spends billions of dollars on campaigning.

This is a system where neither of the major candidates deserves to be our president, but the independent candidates have no chance of winning. A system of gerrymandering, pandering, misinformation and deception. The system is broken. What are you going to do about it?

Me? I protest.

I would be remiss if I did not thank all of the men and women who have fought to protect my freedoms. Without them, I would not be able to express my discontent so freely, and I will never take that fact for granted. 

Leave a Reply

