Mini-Review: Ghost In the Shell

14 Feb

On New Years I made a resolution to watch more movies this year. So far I’ve watched about 53 movies, and since I don’t want to just watch them and then forget about them here’s a new feature that I’m going to start up called “Mini-Reviews” (hopefully I’ll do it more than once or twice before getting bored and not posting anything on the blog for a month)

It’s pretty self explanatory, it’s just a short movie review, that’s it. I’ll just post one a day for now until I build up a few more and then I’ll add to the daily dosage. Without further ado, here’s the first “Mini-Review”:


Ghost in the Shell (1995)
Anime/Cyberpunk/Action
1) Synopsis
We follow Major Motoko Kusanagi, a bad ass cyborg who is the leader of a cyborg police force in the future, as she investigates a super hacker named “The Puppet Master”
2) Was it a positive experience?
My God, yes. It was an absolute eyegasm. A marriage of cyberpunk, film noir, and anime, it’s fantastic because you can go places that you wouldn’t be able to go as easily in a live-action movie.
3) Technically any good?
The animation was crisp, and I love the plot, though at times it does feel as if the movie starts after the actual story does. In all honesty I love the visuals and the concepts of the movie more than anything. The film actually comes across as an animated Blade Runner in terms of its visual. If you were wondering I consider that to be a very good thing.
4)How did it leave you feeling after?
It made me feel like I was born in the wrong time period, it’s such an imaginative film, it paints a picture of such an awesome time and place. I would give anything to live there. (Other than my life of course, that wouldn’t make any sense). After watching the movie a few times I actually made my way through both seasons of the show, which were not quite as visually stunning as the movie, but were still very good.
5) Would you go through that again?
I’ve seen it about 10 or 11 times, and I’d definitely go through it many more times.
6) how many stars? (1-5)
☆☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

