New Music: Britney Spears + DubStep = Win

13 Jan

Pushed forward due to leaks, Britney Spears recently released the lead single to her 7th studio album.

This was definitely not what I was expecting to hear from Britney, but I can’t even pretend to be mad. I was a little hesitant to accept it at first, but then the bass drop hit, and I thought I had just been teleported into a Munich nightclub. Any doubts I had were instantly erased, along with any other thoughts I had at the time. I quite simply lost my mind. Admittedly, the lyrics do borrow a lot from the Bellamy Brother’s 1979 hit ‘If I Said You Had a Beautiful Body Would You Hold It Against Me?’, but she brings originality in the production: her blatant use of the DubStep style throughout the song makes her the first major artist to introduce the genre to the mainstream. It is a risky move, but perhaps not as risky considering how much her music collides with Electronica & Techno already. Either way, the whole concept of the track is a fantastic idea, and her spectacular execution suggests that Britney has indeed returned her focus to music. Hopefully this is true, as she is currently recording her seventh studio album.

Leave a Reply

